728 x 90

Stampeders Dish out Hardware


Just a few short day’s after their hard fought, game seven, overtime loss to the Portage Terriers in the MJHL final, the Swan Valley Stampeders gathered (on April 26) with their friends, families and fans to celebrate the season that was.
Hometown favourite Josh Tripp took home a whopping four awards for his performance this season. He earned not only the Spruce Products top scorer award as well as the Atkinson Sports Excellence regular season MVP but also the Westwood Inn Fan Favorite and the GX94 Three Stars award. The skilled 20-year-old led the team in goal scoring, with 36 regular season markers, and the league in points, with 84 in his 57 games played.
Taking home a trio of awards was late season captain Brian Harris, who took over the position after Jaden Townsend was injured. Harris was given the Coach’s Award, presented to the player who best exemplifies the attributes of Stampeder hockey. He also received the Riddell’s Plumbing, Plumber of the Year award and the Ray Atkinson Unsung Hero award, which he shared with teammate John Jebamani.
Jebamani was also called to the accept another award, the Vestby Family Most Improved Player which he shared with fellow defenceman Tanner Glasrud.
This year’s Louisiana-Pacific Canada Top Defenceman went to Fort McMurray, Alta. player Quintin Sudom, for the second year in a row. Sudom provided a consistent, strong two-way game and finished the regular season ranked 12th in the league for overall points.
Foxwarren native Tucker Scantlebury was this year’s recipient of the Richardson-Pioneer Hardest Worker award. The departing 20-year-old was a force on the ice, showing both offensive ability and grit in every game he played.
The Star and Times Heart Trophy award was presented to both Jaden Townsend of Roblin and Glasrud of Delano, Minn.. That award is given to the player(s) that goes above and beyond to show their dedication to the community, through volunteering, and to the team. Both young men put in countless hours doing just that.
The Kendale Roofing Rookie of the Year award was shared by Josh Maucieri and Carter Cockburn. Hailing from Crosby, Minn., Maucieri put up 16 goals and 23 assists in the regular season and played an important role in the team’s offence. Cockburn, the youngest on the team, never gave up and showed great improvement as the season went on.
Another special award, the Jay Sullivan Memorial Award (presented to the player who shows perseverance and dedication in the classroom and on the ice), was given to Swan River’s Cockburn. The first year forward logged valuable minutes despite still being a 17-year-old.
The last player award, the Playoff MVP award given by the Stampeder Executive, went to Bradly Goethals from Ile des Chenes. The skilled 20-year-old also shared the Regular Season MVP award, putting up 79 points in 50 games played and topping that off with 25 points in 17 playoff games.
Finally, one of the fans in attendance was also recognized for their efforts. Don Mullin was named this year’s JTM Cattle, Volunteer of the Year.
Eight of the team’s players aged out of junior hockey this year. They are Goethals, Tripp, Campbell Balk, Scantlebury, Jun Yi Zhong, Alexander Uryga, Sudom and Merek Pipes.