728 x 90

Sweeping Their Way To Munro Cup Victory


For another year, the Bowsman and District Curling Rink (BDCR) was filled with senior men – aged 60 and over – curling their hardest to win the 61st annual Munro Cup.
The event took place last Monday and Tuesday (Feb. 5 and 6) with eight teams participating, down four from the previous year, but three Munro Cup rookie players joined the ranks this year.
Wes Hofford’s rink – consisting of skip Hofford, third Bob Tibble, second Murray Parsons, and lead Russell Hrappstead – defeated Orest Nimetz’s rink 9-5 after eight ends to capture the A-side championship. Hofford’s win coincides with his first appearance at the Munro Cup.
“It was a good year, and there was great competition out there,” said Hofford.
Larry Mychalchuk’s rink – consisting of skip Mychalchuk, third Keith Robb, second Rob Falk, and lead Ed Yablonski – overtook Alvin Karton’s rink to take the B-side title.
The winners of both championships received plaques to keep, with the A-side winners getting their names engraved on the legacy trophy.
Munro Cup Chair Marvin Vestby said that while the numbers were down this year for rinks entered, they still were able to give $250 to the BDCR.
“We’ve recently dropped the age limit to 60 from 65, and next year, we are considering opening it up to all men eligible for a senior club,” he said.
“As always, the Monday night supper catered by Julie Nahnybida was wonderful, with 35 curlers and invited guests joining us.”
Vestby also expressed his appreciation for the sponsors of the event, as well as the hard work of icemaker Terry Pierrepont.
As always, the senior men will have the chance next year to claim the Munro Cup when they meet again on the first Monday and Tuesday of February.

Jeremy Bergen